Skip to Main Content


European Union (Withdrawal Agreement) Act 2020 (2020 c. 1).

Main Region

First Region

United Kingdom
General provisions; Constitutional law
Law, Act

Second Region

The European Union (Withdrawal Agreement) Act implements the Withdrawal Agreement, as agreed between the United Kingdom and the European Union (EU). The Act is required to implement the Withdrawal Agreement for it to have domestic legal effect and to enable the UK Government to ratify the Withdrawal Agreement. This Act is also the vehicle for the Government to give effect to the EEA EFTA Separation Agreement between the UK and Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein, and the Swiss Citizens’ Rights Agreement between the UK and Switzerland.

Amended Text region

Electronic region