Skip to Main Content


Declaration of State of Emergency: National disaster (COVID-19) (Proclamation No. 7 of 2020).

Main Region

First Region

General provisions; Economic and social policy
Regulation, Decree, Ordinance

Second Region

Namibian Constitution
Declaration of state of emergency: National disaster (COVID-19)
Proclamation 7 of 2020
Published in Government Gazette no. 7148 on 18 March 2020

Commenced on 17 March 2020

[Up to date as at 23 April 2020]

Under Article 26(1) of the Namibian Constitution, read together with section 30(3) of the Disaster Risk Management Act, 2012 (Act No. 10 of 2012), I declare that, with effect from 17 March 2020, a State of Emergency exists in the whole of Namibia on account of the outbreak of the Coronavirus disease (COVID-19).
Given under my Hand and the Seal of the Republic of Namibia at Windhoek this 17th day of March, Twenty Twenty.
Dr. Hage G. Geingob

Basic Text region

Electronic region