Skip to Main Content


Social Security Administration Act 1992 (Chapter 5)

Main Region

First Region

United Kingdom
Social security (general standards); Administration and financing
Law, Act

Second Region

Consolidates numerous enactments relating to the administration of social security and related matters; it is comprised of 16 Parts which are divided into 192 sections. Part I concerns claims for and payments and general administration of benefit; Part II is about adjudication under the Act; Part II relates to overpayments and adjustments of benefit; Part IV provides for recovery from compensation payments; Part V concerns income support and the duty to maintain; Part VI deals with enforcement; Part VII concerns provision of information; Part VIII provides arrangements for housing benefit, community charge benefits and related subsidies; Part IX, X and XI deal with alteration of contributions, review and alteration of benefits, and computation of benefits; Parts XII, XIII, and XIV are about finance, advisory bodies and consultation, and social security systems outside Great Britain; and Parts XV and XVI contain miscellaneous and general provisions.

Implementing Text region

Amending Text region

Electronic region

Serial region

    Serial title
    Printed separately
    Page range
    187 p.